Page 1 of 1

Scavenger shutle project need help

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:44 pm
by Vorak
Me and some other people over at Beestation are working on a ghost spanner scavenger that goes around in space looting ruins and such. on the code side of things it is going fine but I have come into a problem with making the shuttle work. Every time I try the console can’t se the shuttle (it only states shuttle missing on the console). Wondering if anyone would be interested to help me fix my mess. Been trying to fix it for almost a week with no results.
Here is the map code I have done if anyone is interested. https://github.com/BeeStation/BeeStation-Hornet/pull/980. Anny help is appreciated.

Re: Scavenger shutle project need help

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:27 pm
by TheMythicGhost
Vorak wrote:Me and some other people over at Beestation are working on a ghost spanner scavenger that goes around in space looting ruins and such. on the code side of things it is going fine but I have come into a problem with making the shuttle work. Every time I try the console can’t se the shuttle (it only states shuttle missing on the console). Wondering if anyone would be interested to help me fix my mess. Been trying to fix it for almost a week with no results.
Here is the map code I have done if anyone is interested. https://github.com/BeeStation/BeeStation-Hornet/pull/980. Anny help is appreciated.


Hey buddy, I think you got the wrong door, the beehive is two blocks down: https://discord.gg/Y7RTtkK

Re: Scavenger shutle project need help

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 8:45 pm
by Vorak
No it was more that I was stuck and most of the pepole over there was bussy so I decided it could not hurt asking here. I solved it though so I no longer need help with this.

Re: Scavenger shutle project need help

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:38 pm
by deedubya
Probably woulda had more luck asking on the coderbus discord. Not everyone there is too busy or too elitist to answer questions, as long as you go to the right place and at least prove you're putting in effort.

Re: Scavenger shutle project need help

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2019 1:38 am
by John_Gobbel
It probably has to do with the area that you're using, since I'm fairly certain the console checks the area to teleport. It could also be improper room designation but I'm fairly certain it's the same thing. I suggest you look at the white ship map in the code and systematically see how the vars in the console and ship area are set up.

Re: Scavenger shutle project need help

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2019 7:31 am
by oranges
I like it when threads like this happen cause it proves we still the best

Re: Scavenger shutle project need help

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2019 1:25 pm
by Vorak
John_Gobbel wrote:It probably has to do with the area that you're using, since I'm fairly certain the console checks the area to teleport. It could also be improper room designation but I'm fairly certain it's the same thing. I suggest you look at the white ship map in the code and systematically see how the vars in the console and ship area are set up.

From what I understand that is correct. part of the problem was that I though it would work when the shuttle was force spawned though debug. spawning it after map gen made it work. I think I had some other problems that I fixed when confused but I don’t know. Thanks anyway
oranges wrote:I like it when threads like this happen cause it proves we still the best

Probably more that I asked during finals week and the experienced people over there did not have time. and the fact that I though you had the people that made the shuttle code still here and hoped to get some help from them. but sure if it bloats your ego then yes you have some of the people that made important code that people new to mapping can find very confusing.
But now when I am here I might explain what we are working on. it is a ghost spanner ship that cant se station and the crew are supposed to go out and salvage things from space and either sell it or use the materials to build stuff from a techfab not connected to the station research instead they buy research from the market. we are almost finished with most of this and are mostly fixing things up at this point. the new fab is not implemented in this picture but will be in place of the circuit printer
it is not suposed to actualy dock with annything wich is why the docking port is in a wall.