Out of workplace spawns

A place to record your ideas for the game.
Helios
Byond Username: Shodansbreak

Out of workplace spawns

Post by Helios » #4790

I think if there is a chance for your character to spawn out of their designated workplace could be neat.
People spawn the round in the bathroom, in a bedroom in the dorms, at the Bar.
I don't know how difficult this would be to program, but could give some diversity and kind of give the notion "This person's life did not start the minute this round started"
Jeb
Byond Username: Stapler2025

Re: Out of workplace spawns

Post by Jeb » #4791

Spawn drunk in space
Guy that made a thing that got put on the homepage of /tg/station13
Defeated in the Great Purge of 2014
[Security] Fiz Bump says, "Beats me, I'm not a scientist. But this is a problem that can be solved with harmbatons."
Johnson Fitzwell asks, "HOW THE FUCK ARE YOU STILL ALIVE?"
Drynwyn
Byond Username: Drynwyn

Post by Drynwyn » #4794

This would be bad for newbies. I learned how to do things by never going far from my workplace, because otherwise I got lost.
In game, I play the A.I Firmware, the French cyborg C.U.R.I.E, Aubrie Allen, and the lizard scum Skulks-Through-Maintenance.
iamgoofball
Github User
Byond Username: Iamgoofball
Github Username: Iamgoofball

Post by iamgoofball » #4801

Drynwyn, we do have the ability to check player age. We can always make it check someone's age before determining their spawn.
Drynwyn
Byond Username: Drynwyn

Post by Drynwyn » #4812

That'd work.
In game, I play the A.I Firmware, the French cyborg C.U.R.I.E, Aubrie Allen, and the lizard scum Skulks-Through-Maintenance.
paprika
Rarely plays
Byond Username: Paprka

Post by paprika » #8090

Seems like a convoluted amount of coding for a simple thing that isn't really that necessary. Plus, traitors rely on people spawning in their departments at roundstart a lot of the time, adding more goosechase is bad.