Ryuutama - Comfy Japanese Oregon Trail TRPG

I cast magic missile at the darkness
Cheridan
Byond Username: Cheridan

Ryuutama - Comfy Japanese Oregon Trail TRPG

Post by Cheridan » #204271

I started playing this as a cheap backup game for when I had D&D sessions that were short players, but I quickly found myself charmed. My last tabletop group has dissolved (as they tend to), but I'd like to start playing again.
Ryuutama calls itself a “Natural Fantasy RPG”. It is a fantasy role-playing game set in a western medieval-style setting. The conceit of this setting is that at one point, in everyone’s lives, people get this intense feeling of wanderlust. They put their daily lives on hold and travel the world with new-found companions. They find out more about the world, and at the same time learn about themselves.

Ryuutama emphasizes travel, exploration, community, friendship, harmony and growth. There is also a “Console RPG-like” combat system: But while combat certainly happens, it’s not the central focus of the game. Adventures usually involve traveling from one town to another, packing gear, crafting items, cooking and sharing along the way; getting lost, meeting people and (sometimes cute) monsters along the way; braving the elements and trying to set camp properly.
If you'd like to learn more, the rulebook can be found here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/pptbo ... AL_1.0.pdf
With a supplement addition here, featuring an alternate player race and the pirate class: http://www.kotohi.com/ryuutama/rt_data/ ... e_2014.pdf