Headmin: Crit'ing w/o valid justification is ALWAYS a ban

Oldman Robustin
Byond Username: ForcefulCJS

Headmin: Crit'ing w/o valid justification is ALWAYS a ban

Post by Oldman Robustin » #310761

I really didn't want to make this thread but its now a decision affirmed by Ausops and it goes against everything I've ever been told by admins (and my own decisions when I was an admin) in the past 5 years so here we go:

"No we don't let players use stupid reasons to crit people. The fact that they can be healed up right after is not a mitigating or excusing factor when it comes to critting people for stupid reasons."

The incident was a bunch of people chasing the clown around yelling on the radio about him taking his shoes off (people generally react to clowns removing their shoes the same as mimes talking). I saw the chase going by and I cut off the clown, 4 other people were attacking the clown - two just pushing - but a borg had intervened and was flashing everyone and the clown was punching back. I was juking like a madman and landed the vast majority of the punches, about 80 damage worth.

As soon as I saw the clown go critical, I pulled them away from the mob (this was in front of bridge) and toward the medbay. I had the clown safely in the medbay next to a doctor and a medkit within 10 seconds. Only one catch, the clown was already dead because they succumbed within a couple seconds of going critical and ahelped about being killed. In this case I honestly expected the clown to get in trouble for ban-baiting - instead I found myself banned for contributing most of the damage that made the clown go critical.