Page 1 of 1

Z levels and maps

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:17 am
by Tokiko2
Is there any easy way to get tgcode to load specific maps for each z level?

I'm trying to have a small map stretching across 5 zlevels and one z level for adminstuff. No lavaland or random empty space. How would I go about doing this? What files need changing? Or should I just go with baycode instead?

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:31 am
by BeeSting12
>small map
>goes across 5 zlevels
How is that small?

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:30 am
by cedarbridge
Tokiko2 wrote:Is there any easy way to get tgcode to load specific maps for each z level?

I'm trying to have a small map stretching across 5 zlevels and one z level for adminstuff. No lavaland or random empty space. How would I go about doing this? What files need changing? Or should I just go with baycode instead?
Remmie is already working on a multi-z project. Best to look at what's already been done with that.

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:43 pm
by onleavedontatme
Ask Cyberboss, he did the new map loading.

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:49 pm
by bman
cedarbridge wrote:
Tokiko2 wrote:Is there any easy way to get tgcode to load specific maps for each z level?

I'm trying to have a small map stretching across 5 zlevels and one z level for adminstuff. No lavaland or random empty space. How would I go about doing this? What files need changing? Or should I just go with baycode instead?
Remmie is already working on a multi-z project. Best to look at what's already been done with that.
>remie

that wouldnt be a problem if they didnt fuck OFF THE PLANET

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:22 am
by Tokiko2
Kor wrote:Ask Cyberboss, he did the new map loading.
How do I do that? Where, how?

I've dug around in the code a bit and found the mapping subsystem that uses the dmm_suite.dm maploading thing which I assume seems to be what I want. Or not? There also seem to random empty z levels(which I assume are the random emptz space z levels) being loaded or possibly generated somewhere, how do I disable those too?

Another thing that I wonder is if multi-z level files are okay to be loaded with that loader. I've tried it and it seems to work for now, but I am not sure if this causes any horrifying bugs in the long run. I can see the advantage in having each z level of the map being its own file but I really want them all in one file for the much faster workflow.

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:48 am
by Screemonster
BeeSting12 wrote:>small map
>goes across 5 zlevels
How is that small?
5 100x100 maps is less tiles than 1 250x250 map

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:04 pm
by onleavedontatme
Tokiko2 wrote:
Kor wrote:Ask Cyberboss, he did the new map loading.
How do I do that? Where, how?

I've dug around in the code a bit and found the mapping subsystem that uses the dmm_suite.dm maploading thing which I assume seems to be what I want. Or not? There also seem to random empty z levels(which I assume are the random emptz space z levels) being loaded or possibly generated somewhere, how do I disable those too?

Another thing that I wonder is if multi-z level files are okay to be loaded with that loader. I've tried it and it seems to work for now, but I am not sure if this causes any horrifying bugs in the long run. I can see the advantage in having each z level of the map being its own file but I really want them all in one file for the much faster workflow.
He is in #coderbus on irc.rizon.net most of the day.

Re: Z levels and maps

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:31 am
by Tokiko2
I've managed to rewrite it.

In case anyone is interested and wants some pointers:

code/datums/map_config.dm
code/controllers/subsystem/mapping.dm
code/_DEFINES/maps.dm
The _map .dm files and the .json files are also involved.

map_config.dm reads and and converts the configs and mapping.dm then actually tries to load the stuff. maps.dm has some of the defines that are used in the other files. There's probably other stuff for ruins and away missions but I didn't bother with those. Feel free to provide a better explanation if I got anything of that wrong.