Botany Rework Idea

A place to record your ideas for the game.
MisterTikva
Byond Username: KILLtank74

Botany Rework Idea

Post by MisterTikva » #268595

So, tons of people are not satisfied with the current state of botany. Mostly because it is too overpowered and can produce immense amounts of bullshit plants. And in my opinion it is also too shallow, if you are a good enough botanist you already know how to make everything and just end up grinding the buttons for 15-30 minutes to get something that nobody would use anyways. My idea is to make more like virology and link traits and stats into "genes". Those genes can be like: 200u chem capacity, -50 potency, +3 production speed, -3 yield etc. This way you need to balance those genes to get cool enogh effects without it taking 50 minutes to grow a single fruit. It should add more depth to the department and allow us to balance it properly without ruining it.

That's just an idea, i'm no coder or game designer.
Qbopper
Byond Username: Qbopper
Github Username: Qbopper

Re: Botany Rework Idea

Post by Qbopper » #268596

I'm not familiar enough with botany to know what specifically is a problem with the department, but from the little I know this doesn't sound too bad

I'd need an actual botanist main to comment though
Limey wrote:its too late.
MisterTikva

Post by MisterTikva » #268597

I was a botany main before it got too boring for me.
And all you do is whack plants with mutagen to get a new species/100 potency, wait, press some buttons on the DNA Extractor, repeat untill you get your Holocaust Omega Weed.
The problem is that you get best everything if you just spend enough time and press enough buttons, basicaly RnD but nobody needs your stuff, your toys are pretty shitty and there's less of them.
EDIT: adden an actual comment
ShadowDimentio
Byond Username: David273

Post by ShadowDimentio » #268607