Only the Chaplain Can Pray

A place to record your ideas for the game.
Timbrewolf
Rarely plays
Byond Username: An0n3

Only the Chaplain Can Pray

Post by Timbrewolf » #66168

Just spitballing an idea that might spice up some roleplay and get the Chaplain a little more love outside of cult rounds.

Make it so he's the only mob who can /pray. The Chaplain becomes the earthly go-between from the mortals (IC mobs) and the gods (badmins). You need cat ears, a paint bucket, or some random fun doodads? You better show some faith, then! Are you an antagonist who wants to propose some kind of trade or pact with the gods for your TC's? Get in that booth, confess your sins, and pray. Chaplains have a duty to keep such things between you, them, and their Gods but keep in mind there's no telling if he might be a traitor too, or something worse.

As an admin I would be a lot more inclined to answer prayers from people that actually made the effort to act this out with the Chaplain, and it would cut down a lot on the stupid MAKE ME XENO PLS prayers we get constantly. Players would still be able to adminhelp actual problems of course (I'm stuck! This thing glitched! Halp space griff me!) but any requests for divine gifts and favors have to go through the station's conduit for that stuff.

Anyone old enough to remember when the Chaplain could hear ghosts knows he used to have a lot more unique position on the station, and nowadays he's just a dude in a robe who nominally nobody gives a shit about but randomly becomes super important during cult.
Shed Wolf Numero Uno
NSFW:
Steelpoint
Github User
Byond Username: Steelpoint
Github Username: Steelpoint

Re: Only the Chaplain Can Pray

Post by Steelpoint » #66170

If this change is made, admins would need to hear a *ping whenever the Chaplain makes a prayer, the biggest problem with prayers (aside from most of them being absurd) is that its really easy for admins to miss them as there's no indicator of one being made.
Timbrewolf