[Gamemode/Event] Murdery Mystery™

A place to record your ideas for the game.
Phaseus
Byond Username: Phaseu

[Gamemode/Event] Murdery Mystery™

Post by Phaseus » #657982

Preface:
This is a gamemode idea that I've had churning in my head since... an hour ago, while I was in the shower.

I've been playing on /tg/station for about six years now, and out of all the servers, Manuel has always been my favorite thanks to the MRP setting.
Because if this, I've been trying to think up some gamemodes that spark roleplay, and especially intrigue. This gamemode involves 1-4 semi-antagonist players in differing roles.

Enter: The Murdery Mystery™!

There's been a murder! A body has been discovered in the maintenance tunnels, or the bomb testing site, or in some other godforsaken location around the station.
The corpse (a randomly-generated non-sentient carbon) has too many wounds to identify, and the murder weapon is nowhere to be found.

This is the basis for the game-mode, and where all the different roles come into play.

- The Murderer
You did it. You can't hide that fact from yourself, but you CAN had it from the crew, if you play your cards right.
You have a set of objectives centered around shifting blame and blending in.
If there is a Witness present, they will have some form of incriminating evidence that could lead to your arrest, or worse...
You may have additional objectives centered around The Witness and whatever evidence they might have.
Edit: Meant to put this in during the initial post, but it goes without saying, you start with a random bloody murder weapon. A knife, a revolver, maybe even a traitor weapon.

- The Witness
Someone committed a murder, and you have some sort of evidence that might help station security track down the killer.
You start with an incriminating photo, a DNA sample, or an anonymous tip.
You aren't sure exactly who killed John Doe, however, and because of this you might find it difficult to trust anyone...

- The Framed