RE-ADD PRISON STATION

A place to record your ideas for the game.

Moderators: MisterPerson, Code Maintainers

User avatar
Scones
 
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:46 am
Location: cooler than thou
Byond Username: Scones

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Scones » Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:25 pm #102689

The only time people don't get circsawed and bodybagged is when the AI permits

Anyways prisonstation looks cool, do it
plplplplp WOOOOooo hahahhaha



User avatar
Malkevin
Confined to the shed
 
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 4:33 pm
Byond Username: Malkevin

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Malkevin » Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:35 pm #102692

Scones wrote:I'm still the only HoS I know of who pulls out the firing squad.

Seriously, if you want a showy execution, that's the way to do it

I used to do it quite often but I kept finding security officers would end up shooting each other all the time.

Plus years of oppressive admin policy have driven off the security player that isn't a huge gaping vagina.
This space intentionally left blank.

User avatar
DemonFiren
 
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 9:15 pm
Byond Username: DemonFiren

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby DemonFiren » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:18 pm #102698

I still prefer the electric chair in the brig access. Very public.
Image
Image
Image
ImageImageImageImageImage

non-lizard things:
Spoiler:
Image

User avatar
Malkevin
Confined to the shed
 
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 4:33 pm
Byond Username: Malkevin

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Malkevin » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:58 pm #102701

I used to do that too.

I'd stick a proxy+signaller assembly under the chair so it'd zap Mr Crispy everytime someone walked by.
This space intentionally left blank.

User avatar
Wyzack
 
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:32 pm
Byond Username: Wyzack

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Wyzack » Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:37 pm #102706

I like to bust out the firing line on Basil whenever i have enough officers. Which is almost never
Arthur Thomson says, "Since there are no admins I would loging with another account and kill you"
Caleb Robinson laughs.
Arthur Thomson catches fire!
tusterman11 wrote:Can you stop lying? I just asked you and you are was a piece of shiit on me!!!

Kor wrote:I wish Wyzack was still an admin.

EngamerAzari's real number one fangirl <3
certified good poster

User avatar
ThanatosRa
Rarely plays
 
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Byond Username: ThanatosRa

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby ThanatosRa » Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:16 pm #102719

Even though I loved the Prison Station(and was a proponent of it in the day) I've always been a little torn. I think, in this form, it would work. As such, this has my vote of confidence.
my forum gimmick is that no one knows who i am

User avatar
Luke Cox
 
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:52 am
Location: Prisoner Transfer Room
Byond Username: NocturnalQuill

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Luke Cox » Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:37 pm #102720

What if the prison station was located on the same z-level, but had a fixed teleporter or telepad to reach it?

Ricotez wrote:You're supposed to keep executions subtle.

But that's no fun :(
Image

Incomptinence
 
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 3:01 am
Byond Username: Incomptinence

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Incomptinence » Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:57 am #102750

I was always fond of the prison station. Fortifying it gives a better last stand than HUNT THE LOCKERMAN or whatever and then there is fun stuff like finding a traitor made it their private cubbyhole while you were away.

User avatar
invisty
 
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 12:02 am
Byond Username: Invisty

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby invisty » Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:36 am #102760

Would teleporter-based access be more ideal than using a shuttle? I imagine security would just turn all their prisoners into fly-people for shits and giggles.

Also, move the old voidsuits from the abandoned telesat to the new prison station. That way if you see anyone in them you it's a red flag for an escapee.
Mime: Depresso

User avatar
Luke Cox
 
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:52 am
Location: Prisoner Transfer Room
Byond Username: NocturnalQuill

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Luke Cox » Thu Jul 09, 2015 6:36 am #102794

invisty wrote:Would teleporter-based access be more ideal than using a shuttle? I imagine security would just turn all their prisoners into fly-people for shits and giggles.

Also, move the old voidsuits from the abandoned telesat to the new prison station. That way if you see anyone in them you it's a red flag for an escapee.

That would actually be a clever way for sec to identity escapees. I'm pretty sure you can't de-fly yourself. Teleporter would be a simpler solution in general. One telepad leads to the prisoner area, one leads to the staff area. One telepad in a reinforced room on the prison leads back to the station.
Image

User avatar
EmGee
 
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:18 pm
Byond Username: EmGee

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby EmGee » Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:57 am #102799

I agree, a teleporter could be a sound solution. Also, the station should be on the station z-level to make escape easier (and hunkering down in rev possible). Heads hunkering down in the prison station is more fun than ASSAULT ON BRIG or hunting down the HOP roaming maint disguised as a assistant/hiding in maint behind false walls.
Image

User avatar
Miauw
 
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:23 am
Byond Username: Miauw62

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Miauw » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:31 am #102831

Tornadium wrote:
Steelpoint wrote:Then what's the point of a prison station if we're just going to extend perma out by about 20 meter's?


I'm not talking 20 meters. I'm talking distance from bottom of engi to bridge and adding the retractable bridge.

literally impossible
<wb> For one, the spaghetti is killing me. It's everywhere in food code, and makes it harder to clean those up.

<Tobba> I stared into BYOND and it farted

Tornadium
 
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 11:55 am
Byond Username: Tornadium

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Tornadium » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:46 am #102833

Miauw wrote:
Tornadium wrote:
Steelpoint wrote:Then what's the point of a prison station if we're just going to extend perma out by about 20 meter's?


I'm not talking 20 meters. I'm talking distance from bottom of engi to bridge and adding the retractable bridge.

literally impossible


Why is that?

Couldn't you just have a trigger to delete or spawn a few tiles per tick? I know very little about the capabilities of byond unfortunately.

User avatar
Luke Cox
 
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:52 am
Location: Prisoner Transfer Room
Byond Username: NocturnalQuill

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Luke Cox » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:01 am #102835

Tornadium wrote:
Miauw wrote:
Tornadium wrote:
Steelpoint wrote:Then what's the point of a prison station if we're just going to extend perma out by about 20 meter's?


I'm not talking 20 meters. I'm talking distance from bottom of engi to bridge and adding the retractable bridge.

literally impossible


Why is that?

Couldn't you just have a trigger to delete or spawn a few tiles per tick? I know very little about the capabilities of byond unfortunately.

Sure, you could have a massive bridge "shuttle" that goes to an inaccessible z-level when deactivated, that would be too long to reasonably use and prone to various bugs.


Or you could poof them into prison with a telepad that already exists and is perfectly functional.
Image

Tornadium
 
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 11:55 am
Byond Username: Tornadium

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Tornadium » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:03 am #102836

Luke Cox wrote:
Tornadium wrote:
Miauw wrote:
Tornadium wrote:
Steelpoint wrote:Then what's the point of a prison station if we're just going to extend perma out by about 20 meter's?


I'm not talking 20 meters. I'm talking distance from bottom of engi to bridge and adding the retractable bridge.

literally impossible


Why is that?

Couldn't you just have a trigger to delete or spawn a few tiles per tick? I know very little about the capabilities of byond unfortunately.

Sure, you could have a massive bridge "shuttle" that goes to an inaccessible z-level when deactivated, that would be too long to reasonably use and prone to various bugs.


Or you could poof them into prison with a telepad that already exists and is perfectly functional.


I prefer the fun that comes with various bugs.

User avatar
Luke Cox
 
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:52 am
Location: Prisoner Transfer Room
Byond Username: NocturnalQuill

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Luke Cox » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:31 am #102838

Tornadium wrote:
Luke Cox wrote:
Tornadium wrote:
Miauw wrote:
Tornadium wrote:
Steelpoint wrote:Then what's the point of a prison station if we're just going to extend perma out by about 20 meter's?


I'm not talking 20 meters. I'm talking distance from bottom of engi to bridge and adding the retractable bridge.

literally impossible


Why is that?

Couldn't you just have a trigger to delete or spawn a few tiles per tick? I know very little about the capabilities of byond unfortunately.

Sure, you could have a massive bridge "shuttle" that goes to an inaccessible z-level when deactivated, that would be too long to reasonably use and prone to various bugs.


Or you could poof them into prison with a telepad that already exists and is perfectly functional.


I prefer the fun that comes with various bugs.

I don't think the people who actually have to make and implement this share the same sentiment.
Image

User avatar
Malkevin
Confined to the shed
 
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 4:33 pm
Byond Username: Malkevin

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Malkevin » Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:04 pm #102843

Teleporter is bad, either you're putting the receiving beacon somewhere where sec would have to then take the prisoner to the actual prison area (which has the problems of: a. the prisoner would be free of your grip as soon as you shove them in the teleporter, requiring you to stun them first; b. the sec officer has zero way of knowing whats on the other side and can't make any form of egress if the convicts have broken out and are waiting in ambush) or the teleporter goes directly to the prison area which would just be too easy...
This space intentionally left blank.

User avatar
Miauw
 
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 11:23 am
Byond Username: Miauw62

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Miauw » Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:27 pm #102852

there's not enough space for a huge fucking walkway, it'd be lame and buggy and etc.

i wouldn't mind a prison station on the same Z as the station, could be cool, but you'd have to use transfer tubes or a small shuttle.
<wb> For one, the spaghetti is killing me. It's everywhere in food code, and makes it harder to clean those up.

<Tobba> I stared into BYOND and it farted

User avatar
Not-Dorsidarf
In-Game Admin
 
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:14 pm
Location: Space outside the Brig
Byond Username: Dorsidwarf

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Not-Dorsidarf » Thu Jul 09, 2015 7:40 pm #102967

Transfer tubes wouldn't mesh with prisoner transport, so it'd have to be a same-level shuttle.
Image
Image

User avatar
Scones
 
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:46 am
Location: cooler than thou
Byond Username: Scones

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Scones » Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:07 pm #102975

No reason not to use a shuttle
plplplplp WOOOOooo hahahhaha

User avatar
JackHunt
 
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:12 pm
Byond Username: JackHunt

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby JackHunt » Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:09 pm #102977

Don't we already have same level shuttle with the syndie shuttle?

cultist-chan
 
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 3:41 am
Byond Username: Corruptroulette

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby cultist-chan » Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:26 pm #102987

Here's what I'm thinking about prison station. It looks cool but it needs to be fleshed out more.

If you want I could come up with something. However the biggest thing I think it needs is a security C&C room thats isolated from the rest of the station.

User avatar
Luke Cox
 
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:52 am
Location: Prisoner Transfer Room
Byond Username: NocturnalQuill

Re: RE-ADD PRISON STATION

Postby Luke Cox » Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:33 pm #103013

Malkevin wrote:Teleporter is bad, either you're putting the receiving beacon somewhere where sec would have to then take the prisoner to the actual prison area (which has the problems of: a. the prisoner would be free of your grip as soon as you shove them in the teleporter, requiring you to stun them first; b. the sec officer has zero way of knowing whats on the other side and can't make any form of egress if the convicts have broken out and are waiting in ambush) or the teleporter goes directly to the prison area which would just be too easy...

I'm not talking about the regular teleporter like the main one on the station. I'm talking telescience telepads that beam to a fixed location on the prison station. One would be for prisoners, and beam directly into a reception area. The other would be for security, and beam into a security office on the prison station. There would be another telepad in the security office leading back to the sec wing.
Image

Previous

Return to Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mrmelbert