Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01/20]

General SS13 Chat
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01/20]

Post by MrStonedOne » #143757

Byond doesn't work?

Can't connect to shit?

Did it used to work?

Try these steps:
  1. Exempt byond's install folder (c:\program files (x86)\byond or c:\program files\byond) in avast or other anti-virus software. (http://www.getavast.net/support/managing-exceptions) (This one is mainly for hangs when you attempt to connect to servers)
  2. Enable activex filtering in internet settings (windows 7: http://www.byond.com/forum/?post=200776 ... nt17922399 Windows 10: http://www.byond.com/forum/?post=200776 ... nt17907400) (one of those guides should work for 8/8.1/xp)
  3. Uninstall Windows Update KB3132372 (Know to break things in windows 8.1 and 10, maybe others) http://www.byond.com/forum/?post=2008046
Icons fucked up?
Update byond to 511.1369 or higher.

Shit displays odd.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=6812

Shit's blurry
Byond ""feature"". We will have a patch out for it shortly
Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
User avatar
Luke Cox
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:52 am
Byond Username: NocturnalQuill
Location: Prisoner Transfer Room

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by Luke Cox » #143783

I was having this issue earlier. Uninstalled the update, everything works. Apparently this is a widespread issue on Windows 10
Image
User avatar
TechnoAlchemist
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:39 am
Byond Username: TechnoAlchemist

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by TechnoAlchemist » #143815

IE fix worked for me
User avatar
iamgoofball
Github User
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:50 pm
Byond Username: Iamgoofball
Github Username: Iamgoofball
Reddit Username: iamgoofball

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by iamgoofball » #143819

Windows 10 user here, the ActiveX shit worked for me.
kust
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 6:40 pm
Byond Username: Kustridaren

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by kust » #143914

Will there be a more permanent solution to the crash ? Because you can't turn off the update automatic in windows 10
User avatar
IrishWristWatch0
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:25 pm
Byond Username: IrishWristWatch0
Location: Vitals only.

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by IrishWristWatch0 » #143942

kust wrote:- Because you can't turn off the update automatic in windows 10
p sure you can.
╔═══════════════════ ೋღ☃ღೋ ══════════════════╗
<Shaps> I still firmly believe a drunk kor is more responsible than a sober irish
Zoey Webb(Firecage): Irish. You can break any coherent discussion by mentioning 2 words
420weedscopes: I once proposed to a girl with my dick in her ass
Lzimann's best friend.
° ☾ ☆ ¸. ¸  ★  :.  . • ○ ° ★  ° ○ • .  .:  ★  ¸ .¸ ☆ ☾ °
╚═══════════════════ ೋღ☃ღೋ ══════════════════╝
kust
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 6:40 pm
Byond Username: Kustridaren

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by kust » #143944

IrishWristWatch0 wrote:
kust wrote:- Because you can't turn off the update automatic in windows 10
p sure you can.
i only see 2 alternatives at the choose how upgrades installs automatic (recommended) or message about restart when needed
isen't that feature in professional edition ?
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by MrStonedOne » #143949

right click start menu button -> computer management -> services -> windows update -> right click -> properties -> start up type dropdown -> disable
Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
kust
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 6:40 pm
Byond Username: Kustridaren

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by kust » #143952

MrStonedOne wrote:right click start menu button -> computer management -> services -> windows update -> right click -> properties -> start up type dropdown -> disable
Thanks :D
User avatar
Ricotez
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:21 pm
Byond Username: Ricotez
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by Ricotez » #144051

windows 10 isn't that bad but everyone is horribly slow with updating their software/drivers, im still waiting for a new driver for my wifi adapter
MimicFaux wrote:I remember my first time, full of wonderment and excitement playing this game I had heard so many stories about.
on the arrival shuttle, I saw the iconic toolbox on the ground. I clubbed myself in the head with it trying to figure out the controls.
Setting the tool box, now bloodied, back on the table; I went to heal myself with a medkit. I clubbed myself in the head with that too.
I've come a long ways from asking how to switch hands.
Spoiler:
#coderbus wrote:<MrPerson> How many coders does it take to make a lightbulb? Three, one to make it, one to pull the pull request, and one to fix the bugs
Kor wrote:The lifeweb playerbase is primarily old server 2 players so technically its our cancer that invaded them
peoplearestrange wrote:Scared of shadows whispers in their final breath, "/tg/station... goes on the tabl..."
DemonFiren wrote:Please, an Engineer's first response to a problem is "throw it into the singulo".
tedward1337 wrote:Donald Trump is literally what /pol/ would look like as a person
CrunchyCHEEZIT wrote:why does everything on this server have to be a federal fucking issue.
Saegrimr wrote:One guy was running around popping hand tele portals down in the halls before OPs even showed up and got several stranded out on lavaland.
The HoP just toolboxes someone to death out of nowhere, then gets speared by a chemist who saw him murder a guy, then the chemist gets beaten to death because someone else saw him kill the HoP.
Tele-man somehow dies and gets its looted by an atmos tech who managed to use it to send two nuke ops to lavaland, who were then surrounded by several very angry people from earlier and some extra golems on top of it.
Captain dies, gets cloned/revived, lasers the guy holding the disk into crit to take it back.
Some idiot tries to welderbomb the AI hiding out at mining for no discernible reason.
Two permabans and a dayban, i'm expecting a snarky appeal from one of them soon. What the fuck.
ShadowDimentio wrote:I am the problem
LiamLime
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:59 pm
Byond Username: LiamLime

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by LiamLime » #144055

I bought a new computer shortly before windows 10 came out and have had no issues with it. With Win 7 starting to show its age, Win 10 is a worthy successor.

I also really wish Win Phone and Universal Apps would take off. Syncing stuff between Android and Windows can be really clunky. I really wish it would work better.
The bureaucracy is expanding to meet the needs of the expanding bureaucracy.
User avatar
Jimthebob123
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 1:09 am
Byond Username: Jimthebob123

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by Jimthebob123 » #145185

Thank god, now i can actually play this again, 10/10 help
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide 2016

Post by MrStonedOne » #183708

Sounds like what happens when the pager is running on another user account. any user accounts logged in and switch user'ed out?
Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
User avatar
matilda
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:46 pm
Byond Username: MatildaHatchKey

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by matilda » #185335

None of this works for me :<
:^)
User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact
Reddit Username: msolikesass
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by oranges » #185359

What are your symptoms?
User avatar
matilda
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:46 pm
Byond Username: MatildaHatchKey

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by matilda » #193280

It just doesn't open at all. I tried the IE fix and that update isn't in the list.

I had to open up the game in XP on virtualbox but that is not ideal. It's not too important since I can't play because of a wrist injury though.
:^)
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by MrStonedOne » #220316

Screen look like this:

Image

But only when not not a ghost?

Potential fixes (try them in this order):

Update to the latest byond beta
511.1361 or 511.1362 seems to have fixed it. Upgrade to 511.1362 or higher.

Enable Hardware Rendering/Graphics card acceleration
  • Open pager/hub (the main byond application where you log in)
  • Click the white gear/cog icon in the top right and go to preferences (or press control+p)
  • Go to the games tab
  • Make sure that "Use graphics hardware for displaying maps" is checked.
  • If this makes the game worst (blank white screen, skip to the third fix)
Reinstall Video Drivers
  • Open device manager (do a search or find it in the sidebar of the system control panel)
  • Expand display adapter
  • Right click your graphics card
  • Select Uninstall
  • Make sure delete driver software is unchecked (if the option exists)
  • Click ok
  • After it is done, restart your computer twice.
Disable secondary Graphics card
Some computers have a built in basic graphics card (built-in to the motherboard, or the gpu) AND an external more powerful graphics card. The thing is byond might still attempt to render the game with the internal one even if the monitor is connected to the external one.
  • Open device manager (do a search or find it in the sidebar of the system control panel)
  • Expand display adapter
  • If you don't have two displayed, this fix is not for you.
  • Find the inferrer one, generally the intel, usually says things like APU or integrated
  • Right click, and click disable.
Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
User avatar
PKPenguin321
Site Admin
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:02 pm
Byond Username: PKPenguin321
Github Username: PKPenguin321
Location: U S A, U S A, U S A

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by PKPenguin321 » #220321

nice station name in that image mso
i play Lauser McMauligan. clown name is Cold-Ass Honkey
i have three other top secret characters as well.
tell the best admin how good he is
Spoiler:
Image
User avatar
John_Oxford
Github User
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 5:19 am
Byond Username: John Oxford
Github Username: JohnOxford
Location: The United States of America

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by John_Oxford » #220461

ayyy
nigger shouldn't have gone in the armory.
Bill Rowe - Used for everything // SYS-OP - AI // SYS-USR - Cyborg
https://gyazo.com/07cbe7219ba24366c1f655ad6c56a524

Signature Content:
Spoiler:
Offical In-Game rank:
Image

Image

Image

Image
TechnoAlchemist wrote:you where always right john, you where always right
>implying the admin conspiracy wasen't just confirmed by a admin.
see, i told you motherfuckers.
NikNakFlak wrote:this isn't a game you can't just post whenever you want
I don't even know what the fuck tg is.

Image

Image
SHTC
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 12:39 am
Byond Username: Seth Hunter

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by SHTC » #234945

When I upgraded to Byond 511 from 510 my screen permanently became this. I tried all of the tips to fix it even using my Nvidia control panel to force the GPU over the Integrated card and it still is only this.

Image
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by MrStonedOne » #235144

preferences tab -> game preferences -> parallax (fancy space) (last option on the left side) -> click until it says disabled
Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
User avatar
Alipheese
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 12:56 pm
Byond Username: Daturix
Github Username: Daturix

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by Alipheese » #235151

SHTC wrote:When I upgraded to Byond 511 from 510 my screen permanently became this. I tried all of the tips to fix it even using my Nvidia control panel to force the GPU over the Integrated card and it still is only this.

Image
Mostly 511 versions don't work. 511.1360 works like a charm and is the specific version many use.

Screenshots.
Spoiler:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Quotes.
Spoiler:
PKPenguin321 wrote:holy shit that engineering setup
that man deserves a medal
Anonmare wrote:Gee Engie, why does your mom let you have TWO singulos?
The Legend of Scrubs, MD
You are a traitor!
Your current objectives:
Objective #1: They mocked you in life, a lesser janiborg they said. Now they shall know terror.
Objective #2: Hijack the shuttle to ensure no loyalist Nanotrasen crew escape alive and out of custody.
Cuboos wrote: > That god damn engineer who let the singularity loose was a traitor and the only reasonable person on that whole entire station.
SHTC
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 12:39 am
Byond Username: Seth Hunter

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by SHTC » #235191

I tried both of the suggestions and I didn't even have a parallax option on 511.1365 but downgrading to 511.1360 seemed to work. Thanks for the help
User avatar
Skorvold
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:36 pm
Byond Username: Skorvold

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by Skorvold » #235240

Posting in here. https://tgstation13.org/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8854

Can't seem to upgrade IE8, all IE11 installations fail. Any attempts to force an upgrade just loops the update cycle. I know this isn't the tech support forum but I'm kind of fucked here. I can't use suit storage units, disposal units, cryo cells, anything like that without it giving me a load loop. I've updated Byond to the latest beta also.
Never give up! Trust your instincts!
Spoiler:
http://steamcommunity.com/id/skorvold
Talk to me on steam anytime.
User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact
Reddit Username: msolikesass
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by oranges » #235241

are you on windows 7 and do you have the latest service pack? (sp1 I think)
User avatar
Skorvold
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:36 pm
Byond Username: Skorvold

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by Skorvold » #235243

Yeah, looks like I have service pack one.
Never give up! Trust your instincts!
Spoiler:
http://steamcommunity.com/id/skorvold
Talk to me on steam anytime.
User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact
Reddit Username: msolikesass
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by oranges » #235245

User avatar
Skorvold
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:36 pm
Byond Username: Skorvold

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by Skorvold » #235246

That's exactly the exe I've been using. All it does is install a SIGN-UP folder after making a new Internet Explorer folder, then it asks me to restart my computer. Restarting does nothing.
Never give up! Trust your instincts!
Spoiler:
http://steamcommunity.com/id/skorvold
Talk to me on steam anytime.
User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact
Reddit Username: msolikesass
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by oranges » #235248

User avatar
Skorvold
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:36 pm
Byond Username: Skorvold

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by Skorvold » #235249

No dice. I guess I'm just fucked unless I reinstall win7.
Never give up! Trust your instincts!
Spoiler:
http://steamcommunity.com/id/skorvold
Talk to me on steam anytime.
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by MrStonedOne » #243453

Update to the graphical issues bug: Install DirectX SDK https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=6812
Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
User avatar
Iatots
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:17 pm
Byond Username: Iatots
Github Username: Iatots

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by Iatots » #243692

I have been having frequent crashes today. Now updated to second to last beta release, and have ie11 on windows 8.1 but no dice. Sometimes right after I reconnect when I do something that needs the tgUI I get "sending resources" in the chatbox.

Whatever it was has been fixed after some recent updates. This post can be deleted.
Last edited by Iatots on Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Panic
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:32 am
Byond Username: Esac1122

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by Panic » #245937

MrStonedOne wrote:Screen look like this:

Image

But only when not not a ghost?

Potential fixes (try them in this order):

Update to the latest byond beta
511.1361 or 511.1362 seems to have fixed it. Upgrade to 511.1362 or higher.

Enable Hardware Rendering/Graphics card acceleration
  • Open pager/hub (the main byond application where you log in)
  • Click the white gear/cog icon in the top right and go to preferences (or press control+p)
  • Go to the games tab
  • Make sure that "Use graphics hardware for displaying maps" is checked.
  • If this makes the game worst (blank white screen, skip to the third fix)
Reinstall Video Drivers
  • Open device manager (do a search or find it in the sidebar of the system control panel)
  • Expand display adapter
  • Right click your graphics card
  • Select Uninstall
  • Make sure delete driver software is unchecked (if the option exists)
  • Click ok
  • After it is done, restart your computer twice.
Disable secondary Graphics card
Some computers have a built in basic graphics card (built-in to the motherboard, or the gpu) AND an external more powerful graphics card. The thing is byond might still attempt to render the game with the internal one even if the monitor is connected to the external one.
  • Open device manager (do a search or find it in the sidebar of the system control panel)
  • Expand display adapter
  • If you don't have two displayed, this fix is not for you.
  • Find the inferrer one, generally the intel, usually says things like APU or integrated
  • Right click, and click disable.
I got this same error. Turning byond to 510 and restarting my computer fixed the issue.
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2016/6/

Post by MrStonedOne » #246211

Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
User avatar
tacolizard
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:39 pm
Byond Username: Tacolizard
Github Username: Tacolizard
Location: the endless void

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by tacolizard » #247355

mso, the june 2010 version of the directx sdk is what fixes those issues. not the latest version
User avatar
MrStonedOne
Host
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:56 pm
Byond Username: MrStonedOne
Github Username: MrStonedOne
Reddit Username: monarchmra

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by MrStonedOne » #247539

The latest version is the june 2010 version silly.
Forum/Wiki Administrator, Server host, Database King, Master Coder
MrStonedOne on Reddit(banned), Steam, IRC, Skype Discord.
Image
User avatar
tacolizard
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:39 pm
Byond Username: Tacolizard
Github Username: Tacolizard
Location: the endless void

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by tacolizard » #276054

wat
User avatar
Luke Cox
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:52 am
Byond Username: NocturnalQuill
Location: Prisoner Transfer Room

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Luke Cox » #286048

The game keeps closing as soon as it opens. No crash, no disconnect, the program just exits.

Edit: Restart seems to have fixed this
Image
User avatar
Armhulen
Global Moderator
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:30 pm
Byond Username: Armhulenn
Github Username: bazelart

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Armhulen » #299194

this again, whyyyyyyyyyyyy
Spoiler:
Image
byond is updated and everything, i've restarted and all that beloney
Image Image Image
User avatar
Armhulen
Global Moderator
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 4:30 pm
Byond Username: Armhulenn
Github Username: bazelart

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Armhulen » #299377

Reeee someone help me FIX IT
Image Image Image
User avatar
Lumbermancer
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:40 am
Byond Username: Lumbermancer

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Lumbermancer » #321836

All my pop-up windows, computers and consoles show up blank white. Or rather they show up good once, then they stop working. Help.
aka Schlomo Gaskin aka Guru Meditation aka Copyright Alright aka Topkek McHonk aka Le Rouge
Image
User avatar
MetroidLover
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:12 am
Byond Username: MetroidLover

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by MetroidLover » #323227

I have tried all these steps but no luck.

Whenever I join a server it just replies with "Connection died". This happens when I reconnect as well.
User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact
Reddit Username: msolikesass
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by oranges » #323597

is there a link that says click here to be taken to the game in your chat window?

try clicking it
User avatar
MetroidLover
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:12 am
Byond Username: MetroidLover

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by MetroidLover » #323598

It worked, Thank you.
User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact
Reddit Username: msolikesass
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by oranges » #323600

there is a known issue where sometimes the byond client fails to follow those linkes (They're normally followed completely automatically)

hopefully we can find a fix for it soon, but in the meantime, clicking the link will work fine.
User avatar
Hard4Men
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:44 pm
Byond Username: Hard4Women

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Hard4Men » #324792

hey boys byond stopped connecting to shit, i was going to try to reinstall but the actual website is fucked too

http://www.byond.com/
https://ibb.co/hQJkxF
User avatar
Qbopper
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:34 pm
Byond Username: Qbopper
Github Username: Qbopper
Location: Canada

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Qbopper » #324804

I knew it

We should have whitelisted /tg/station to byond donors only

What have we done
Limey wrote:its too late.
User avatar
D&B
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 2:23 am
Byond Username: Repukan
Location: *teleports behind you*

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by D&B » #324808

This is it

The beginning of the end
Spoiler:
[20:26:02]ADMIN: PM: [censored admin]->[censored]: Welp. It was just a prank bro isn't a very good excuse when it comes to unprovoked nonantag murder, but since this is your first time doing it and you seem to understand the problem instead of a bannu I'm just going to leave you with a warning. Please PLEASE don't do this again in the future, as funny as crackhead broken bottle memes can be. Alrighty? Do you have any input on this?
[20:26:39]ADMIN: PM: [censored]->[censored admin]: Alright, no problem. I have some input. Fuck my boy pussy.
[20:27:06]ADMIN: PM: [censored admin]->[censored]: Okay then. Have fun.
[20:31:29]ADMIN: PM: [censored admin]->[censored]: Excuse me?
J_Madison wrote: that's a stupid fucking stat
you don't play, you've never played
lying little shit with your bullshit stat
fuck you
ColonicAcid wrote:and with enough practise i too could blow my own dick so well that only the gods know how it feels.
User avatar
Grazyn
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:01 am
Byond Username: Grazyn

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Grazyn » #339303

I can't seem to connect to either server, it takes an extremely long time locked in the "your game is loading" window, then after like 5 minutes it opens a blank page with a link that says "Now redirecting you, why are you still here, click this to be redirected" but clicking it does nothing, the only thing that happens is that the "options and messages" window pops up and says "another connection has been made, terminating current session" like when you double connect but I have no active sessions.

things I tried:
clear beyond cache
add firewall and anti-virus exception
disable anti-virus and firewall
clean beyond reinstall
enable/disable activex thingy
reset network settings
soft reset router to factory settings

This is definitely something on my side because trying to log on other servers gives me "Network connection shutting down due to read error.
Connection died." and using my phone's connection works fine. I just don't know what else to try, it looks like a firewall is interfering but disabling it does nothing. Speedtest doesn't return anything odd, it gives me 4.38 Mbps in download which isn't much but I never had any problem with that, this issue just came up in the last few days.
User avatar
Grazyn
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 11:01 am
Byond Username: Grazyn

Re: Byond doesn't work troubleshooting guide [edited 2017/01

Post by Grazyn » #339352

Upon further testing with other test sites I noticed I was having 100% packet loss. So I started playing around in my my router settings and managed to get 0% loss and stable 70 ms ping on most test sites. This didn't fix the problem though, now I can connect to Bay server (which I couldn't before) but not to tg or paradise. I'm pretty sure there is something I can do in the router settings to fix it but I know shit about networks and I would be just banging rocks together
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users