The players first

Resolved.

Should game changes go through the community before being merged to tgstation code?

Yes
17%
Yes
17%
Yes
17%
No
17%
No
17%
No
17%

Total votes: 18

Scott
Github User
Byond Username: Xxnoob
Github Username: xxalpha

The players first

Post by Scott » #1018

Should game changes require to be accepted by the community before being merged?

Share opinions.
Jeb
Byond Username: Stapler2025

Re: The players first

Post by Jeb » #1020

Needs an abstain option.

The way I see it is that there aren't many games that go through a "community review" process, namely larger games. Those same games are also undergoing dramatic change (expansions, revamps, etc).
Guy that made a thing that got put on the homepage of /tg/station13
Defeated in the Great Purge of 2014
[Security] Fiz Bump says, "Beats me, I'm not a scientist. But this is a problem that can be solved with harmbatons."
Johnson Fitzwell asks, "HOW THE FUCK ARE YOU STILL ALIVE?"
Ikarrus
Byond Username: Ikarrus
Github Username: Ikarrus

Post by Ikarrus » #1025

It depends. It's not always the best option.

We would still be stuck with the old clunky UI if erro had not pushed it through. Even when the players were polled again whether or not to change it back, everyone wanted to keep the new one.

We need to listen to what the players want, but we also need to be careful not to let them crush ideas before they had a chance to try them out. The community as a whole can be very resistant towards changes that would be beneficial in the long run.

Playtesting is the best way to go about this. hg's speed change was initially met with mass vitriol, but it became more popular after players had the chance to try it out and get over the initial shock of change.
Former Dev/Headmin
Who is this guy?
bandit
Byond Username: Bgobandit

Post by bandit » #1028