Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

How, what and why to code in BYOND.

Moderators: MisterPerson, Code Maintainers

Stillplant
 
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:58 pm
Byond Username: Stillplant

Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Stillplant » Tue Feb 26, 2019 3:23 pm #479581

I've decided to try and take a stab at the camera bug bug, as described in issue 39975. As Angustmeta described, the problem is that the bug can not be reproducted on a private server.

My suspicion is that the bug is caused by the configuration. However, since I don't know how your servers are configured, I can't test my hypothesis. Is there somewhere where I could look up how your servers are configured, so that I could try and reproduce the bug?

I, ofcourse, don't know whether Angustmeta has already tried that.



User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby oranges » Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:46 pm #479633

Image

Stillplant
 
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:58 pm
Byond Username: Stillplant

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Stillplant » Tue Feb 26, 2019 10:37 pm #479662

Thanks.

datorangebottle
 
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:53 am
Byond Username: Datorangebottle

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby datorangebottle » Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:49 pm #479985

Oddly, the camera bug showed the entire list of cameras the last time I used it on the server. Is this not supposed to be the case?

Angust
 
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:35 pm
Byond Username: Angust

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Angust » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:18 pm #481284

Stillplant wrote:I, ofcourse, don't know whether Angustmeta has already tried that.


I have not.

datorangebottle wrote:Oddly, the camera bug showed the entire list of cameras the last time I used it on the server. Is this not supposed to be the case?


That's how it's supposed to work. Was this recent? Maybe it's fixed. Confirmation needed. Server name might also be relevant.

datorangebottle
 
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:53 am
Byond Username: Datorangebottle

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby datorangebottle » Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:04 am #481387

It was pretty recent, I generally only play on Sybil.

Stillplant
 
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:58 pm
Byond Username: Stillplant

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Stillplant » Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:15 pm #481784

datorangebottle wrote:Oddly, the camera bug showed the entire list of cameras the last time I used it on the server. Is this not supposed to be the case?


Not as far as I know.

Angust
 
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:35 pm
Byond Username: Angust

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Angust » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:25 pm #481800

When you activate the camera bug, you get a list of cameras, each with a "monitor" button to the right of it. Clicking the monitor button gives you a list of mobs visible from the camera (such as Sergeant-at-Armsky in armory). You can then click a "track" button next to a mob's name and you'll get a "Last seen near "Armory - Internal (now)"" text, where "Armory - Internal" is clickable to make you see from that camera.

It seems clunky and buggy on private server now. Clicking cameras sometimes has long delays, and when clicking the tracked person's camera you only get a few seconds of view before being kicked out.

Anyhow I think the camera bug item works now. At least I could click it as an observer on Terry today and get the list of cameras up.

User avatar
Gamarr
 
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:10 pm
Byond Username: Gamarr

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Gamarr » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:40 pm #481802

The bug has gone through a few iterations but has never been used much due to its first, I think, version. Basically it was cheap but you physically had to go plant it into cameras so its use was kind of little in regards to remotely viewing something useful and you don't got access to.

Later on, after actual bugs regarding the item made it even rarer used, it got changed, and someone just made it hack the camera network. You can Still plant it, I believe, and wiki says it just lets you disable that camera now. It's been this way now for a good while. The camera picking UI menu runs like complete ass but nobody has ever commonly used this item afaik and I've literally never noticed anyone but myself even bother experimenting with them. (They're fucking good for 1 tc btw)

Angust
 
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:35 pm
Byond Username: Angust

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Angust » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:10 pm #481821

I agree it's a good item.

But scratch my previous post. The very next Terry round it was bugged again. No list of cameras appeared.
So it's probably some sort of condition that triggers it.

User avatar
PKPenguin321
In-Game Game Master
 
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:02 pm
Location: U S A, U S A, U S A
Byond Username: PKPenguin321

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby PKPenguin321 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:06 pm #481828

Angust wrote:I agree it's a good item.

But scratch my previous post. The very next Terry round it was bugged again. No list of cameras appeared.
So it's probably some sort of condition that triggers it.

Did the map change between rounds?
i play Lauser McMauligan. clown name is Cold-Ass Honkey
i have three other top secret characters as well
tell the best admin how good he is
Spoiler:
Image

Angust
 
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 6:35 pm
Byond Username: Angust

Re: Attempting to fix the bug with the syndicate item "camera bug"

Postby Angust » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:42 pm #482076

PKPenguin321 wrote:Did the map change between rounds?



It might have been round 103191 (item worked) and 103201 (did not work). Both on Metastation.

But I can't remember for my life, and I recall seeing pda-bombs on the one where it didn't work which was not bought on any of those rounds in the logs, so I'm very disappointed in myself for not screencapping.


Return to Coding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests