Custom Keybinds not functioning

How, what and why to code in BYOND.

Moderators: MisterPerson, Code Maintainers

Bugseatbugs
 
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:42 am
Byond Username: Molerth

Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Bugseatbugs » Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:27 am #569728

I'm trying to set up custom keybindings such as flip and spin. I've set hotkey mode to Hotkeys. Every time I [Unbound] I get the pop up telling me to press anything to set it. I press the desired button and nothing happens. The pop up window stays where it's at and nothing changes. I've tried the [Add Secondary] with the same result. I've uninstalled and reinstalled byond. I've updated IE because that was recommended to try that. I've set everything back to default many times. I've swapped from keybinds to default and saved and swapped back. Nothing is working. I'm set Action Buttons Unlocked and Hotkey mode: Hotkeys.
What am I missing or messing up?
I was recommended to post this in here by an in game admin who attempted to help me with this.



User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby oranges » Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:40 am #569771

what button are you trying to set though

User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby oranges » Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:44 am #569772

also couple more questions
WHat operating system are you using
Are you using byond on a secondary monitor
Are you clicking on the keybind window before pressing a key

Bugseatbugs
 
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:42 am
Byond Username: Molerth

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Bugseatbugs » Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:35 pm #569813

oranges wrote:also couple more questions
WHat operating system are you using
Are you using byond on a secondary monitor
Are you clicking on the keybind window before pressing a key

I'm trying to set emotes but even trying to set generic functions doesn't work. All other keybinds like X to swap hands function normally though. I just cant change any of them or set a secondary.
I'm on W7. Someone in the other thread also said they had the issue on W10 and another chimed in saying they do not have this issue on W7.
I am clicking on the keybind window before pressing the key

User avatar
oranges
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:16 pm
Location: #CHATSHITGETBANGED
Byond Username: Optimumtact
Github Username: optimumtact

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby oranges » Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:16 am #569852

the fuck, that's so whack, I don't even know wtf is going on

User avatar
skoglol
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:25 am
Byond Username: Skoglol
Github Username: kriskog

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby skoglol » Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:47 am #569863

I grabbed your savefile off bagil to try to reproduce it, and it works fine on my machine. Is this the server you were connected to? If so, there doesnt seem to be any server side issues at least, but we could also check the logs if you find a round I you were trying this on.

User avatar
pubby
Github User
 
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:45 pm
Byond Username: Pubby
Github Username: pubby

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby pubby » Fri Jul 17, 2020 8:24 pm #569911

I've had something similar occur and it's prevented me from playing since the keybinding thing was introduced.

From what I remember, it was 100% broken on one of the servers (basil?) and completely locked me out of inputs, so I couldn't do anything at all. On the other server (sybil?), I could use the default keybindings, but couldn't set new ones.

I'm on linux+wine though and not using QWERTY.

Bugseatbugs
 
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:42 am
Byond Username: Molerth

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Bugseatbugs » Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:26 am #569935

skoglol wrote:I grabbed your savefile off bagil to try to reproduce it, and it works fine on my machine. Is this the server you were connected to? If so, there doesnt seem to be any server side issues at least, but we could also check the logs if you find a round I you were trying this on.

Yeah I'm on Basil. All other keybinds that are normally set function just fine. I'm just unable to rebind any of them.

Bugseatbugs
 
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:42 am
Byond Username: Molerth

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Bugseatbugs » Sat Jul 18, 2020 12:27 am #569936

pubby wrote:I've had something similar occur and it's prevented me from playing since the keybinding thing was introduced.

From what I remember, it was 100% broken on of the servers (basil?) and completely locked me out of inputs, so I couldn't do anything at all. On the other server (sybil?), I could use the default keybindings, but couldn't set new ones.

I'm on linux+wine though and not using QWERTY.

I will try this on Sybil and see if I'm able to set keybinds. So far default keybinds have always worked

Edit: Tried setting new keybinds while on sybil. Nothing. Same pop up window and it still doesn't accept any new keys. Clicked on the window, nothing.

User avatar
skoglol
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:25 am
Byond Username: Skoglol
Github Username: kriskog

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby skoglol » Sat Jul 18, 2020 1:39 am #569941

Very likely to be a local issue then. Grasping at straws here but try alternative methods of input, i.e. on-screen keyboard.

Bugseatbugs
 
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:42 am
Byond Username: Molerth

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Bugseatbugs » Sat Jul 18, 2020 2:56 am #569943

skoglol wrote:Very likely to be a local issue then. Grasping at straws here but try alternative methods of input, i.e. on-screen keyboard.

Just tried this. Nope. I'm so confused. I guess I'm just going to get used to typing them in!
Thanks all of y'all for trying!

PepperPrepper
 
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:06 pm
Byond Username: Iwanttocookyouanicemeal
Github Username: PepperPrepper

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby PepperPrepper » Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:44 am #569961

Just out of interest what kind of keyboard do you use / what is your keyboards language set to? (in windows) I might be remembering wrong but I recall having issues with non US keyboard layouts.

Bugseatbugs
 
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:42 am
Byond Username: Molerth

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Bugseatbugs » Sun Jul 19, 2020 2:18 am #570004

PepperPrepper wrote:Just out of interest what kind of keyboard do you use / what is your keyboards language set to? (in windows) I might be remembering wrong but I recall having issues with non US keyboard layouts.

Das Keyboard and it's set to english

PepperPrepper
 
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:06 pm
Byond Username: Iwanttocookyouanicemeal
Github Username: PepperPrepper

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby PepperPrepper » Sun Jul 19, 2020 4:04 am #570015

Bugseatbugs wrote:Das Keyboard and it's set to english

Keyboard should be fine then. Grasping at straws here but it could be an IE bug. Do you have any other issues with any of the UI windows?

Never mind that, I read your other thread. Could you try the following:
1. Try a different keyboard
2. Try an on screen keyboard
2. Try setting bindings on a local server. Guide on setting up one:
Spoiler:
https://tgstation13.org/wiki/Downloading_the_source_code

3. Reinstalling your keyboard drivers
4. Change your system language to US. (Even if you think you've it's set to US i would go through and check) I hate linking tech websites but:
Spoiler:
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-properly-change-system-default-language-windows-10

User avatar
skoglol
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:25 am
Byond Username: Skoglol
Github Username: kriskog

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby skoglol » Sun Jul 19, 2020 10:18 am #570048

pubby wrote:I've had something similar occur and it's prevented me from playing since the keybinding thing was introduced.

From what I remember, it was 100% broken on one of the servers (basil?) and completely locked me out of inputs, so I couldn't do anything at all. On the other server (sybil?), I could use the default keybindings, but couldn't set new ones.

I'm on linux+wine though and not using QWERTY.


We could force a savefile reset for you if resetting hotkeys to default in preferences isnt working. There has been some improvements to how we handle the defaulting, so would likely sort it and make it playable.

User avatar
Timonk
 
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:27 pm
Location: ur mum
Byond Username: Timonk

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Timonk » Mon Jul 20, 2020 9:21 am #570149

works fine for me on bagil
Agux909 wrote:
Timonk wrote:This is why we make fun of Manuel


Woah bravo there sir, post of the month you saved the thread. I feel overwhelmed by the echo of unlimited wisdom and usefulness sprouting from you post. Every Manuel player now feels embarrased to exist because of your much NEEDED wise words, you sure teached'em all, you genius, IQ lord.




The hut has perished at my hands.
Image



The pink arrow is always right.

Bugseatbugs
 
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 2:42 am
Byond Username: Molerth

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby Bugseatbugs » Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:19 pm #570259

PepperPrepper wrote:
Bugseatbugs wrote:Das Keyboard and it's set to english

Keyboard should be fine then. Grasping at straws here but it could be an IE bug. Do you have any other issues with any of the UI windows?

Never mind that, I read your other thread. Could you try the following:
1. Try a different keyboard
2. Try an on screen keyboard
2. Try setting bindings on a local server. Guide on setting up :
Spoiler:
https://tgstation13.org/wiki/Downloading_the_source_code

3. Reinstalling your keyboard drivers
4. Change your system language to US. (Even if you think you've it's set to US i would go through and check) I hate linking tech websites but:
Spoiler:
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-properly-change-system-default-language-windows-10

1. I don't have another keyboard to try sadly
2. I've tried on screen keyboard and it didn't yield any different results.
3. I will try this when I have the time but it may be a little bit
4. Just re installed them and nothing changes.
5. I have swapped this around and still nothing.

I'm just ganna get used to typing them out at this point sadly. It's not a huge issue but it seems I'm stuck with it.

User avatar
pubby
Github User
 
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 3:45 pm
Byond Username: Pubby
Github Username: pubby

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby pubby » Tue Jul 21, 2020 11:21 pm #570330

skoglol wrote:We could force a savefile reset for you if resetting hotkeys to default in preferences isnt working. There has been some improvements to how we handle the defaulting, so would likely sort it and make it playable.

Make it happen my good man and I'll test it.

User avatar
skoglol
Code Maintainer
 
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:25 am
Byond Username: Skoglol
Github Username: kriskog

Re: Custom Keybinds not functioning

Postby skoglol » Tue Jul 28, 2020 6:53 pm #570904

Defaults will be qwerty, if you give me a nudge once you are online on a server I can edit your move keys manually. I've asked someone to do it, let you know when its done.


Return to Coding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron