Character mugshots in chat

A place to record your ideas for the game.
Glebguy

Character mugshots in chat

Post by Glebguy » #25967

Basically, when someone speaks they have the mugshot of their character appearing before text. Sometimes I can get confused for a couple of seconds after a crowd of people speaking and I need time to identify who said what.
Reimoo
Byond Username: Reimoo

Re: Character mugshots in chat

Post by Reimoo » #25973

I'm no coder but that seems unnecessarily complicated. Instead, I think the job indicator script should be on by default, to be honest.
Remie Richards
Byond Username: CrimsonVision
Location: England, UK, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Known Universe

Post by Remie Richards » #25975

It can be done easily if I ever port Dismemberment, just use the same proc I use to make head items match the head of the person it came from.
私は完璧
cedarbridge
Byond Username: Cedarbridge

Post by cedarbridge » #25992

Seems like this should only be something possible for characters on screen (complicating the code requirements.) Radio speak is not really the sort of thing that should be broadcasting your face around.
Cheridan
Byond Username: Cheridan

Post by Cheridan » #25994

cedarbridge wrote:Seems like this should only be something possible for characters on screen (complicating the code requirements.) Radio speak is not really the sort of thing that should be broadcasting your face around.
Radio chat previously had the image of whatever you were using to communicate, such as an intercom or headset. This was eventually removed because it was inconsistent (how can you tell that dude is talking from a headset?) and could be used to meta. However it's a good proof-of-concept. Adding an icon is easy.